THE RULE OF 11

When partner leads fourth highest we can use the Rule of 11 to work out
how many cards higher than the lead card are in declarer’s hand.

The Rule of 11 is most commonly used:

e Ina No Trump contract
e By 3" player when partner has led 4" highest of their longest suit

It helps us to work out whether our side can play cheaply to win or promote a trick. It
can also tell 3" player that continuing the suit is hopeless and that a switch to another
suit could be a good idea.

How it Works

When we are third hand and the opening lead might be the 4™ highest of a long suit,
we deduct the number of the card led from eleven. The result tells us how many cards,
higher than the one led, are in the other three hands (i.e. in our hand, the dummy and
declarer’s hand). Once we see the dummy we can then work out how many of those
higher cards are held by the declarer. Let’s look at an example.

North

K92
West East
Lead: 7 AlJ3

Partner (West) leads the seven and dummy plays the two. Subtract the card led, the
seven, from eleven giving four. This tells us that there are four cards higher than the
seven in our hand, the dummy hand and declarers hand. We can see four cards
higher than the seven between our hand and dummy so we know declarer has no card
higher than the seven.... we therefore play the three and partner wins with the seven.
If the nine was played from the dummy we would win the trick with the Jack.

Here are all four hands: North
K92
West East
Q10874 AJ3
South
65
Why 11?

The cards are numbered from 2 to 14, with the Ace being 14.
2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,J(11), Q (12), K(13), A (14)
If partner leads his 4™ highest he has 3 higher cards 14 - 3 = 11.
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How do we know partner’s lead is 4" highest?

We will need to judge whether partner’s lead is likely to be 4™ highest by looking at
the card led and the other cards we can see.

The auction is also very important to help decide whether the lead is likely to be 4™
highest. Consider these two auctions, both with a lead of #6

1 | North East South West 2 | North East South West

INT Pass 14 Pass 24 Pass

3NT Pass Pass Pass 29 Pass 3NT Pass
Pass

In auction 1 the #6 is very likely to be 4" highest. In auction 2 we can’t be sure %6 is
4™ highest, West is likely to choose a club lead from various combination e.g. from
%863 simply because it is the unbid suit.

Rule of 11 for Declarer

Declarer can also use the Rule of 11 in the same way to work out how many cards
higher than the lead card are held by his right hand opponent. e.g.

North
KJ82
West East
Q10653 9
South
AT74

West leads the 5. Subtract 5 from 11 to give 6. Declarer has two higher cards,
dummy has three, so East has just 1. Declarer plays low from dummy and sees East
play the 9. After winning with the ace he deduces that West started with Q1065 or
Q10653 and therefore (at some stage) takes the deep finesse of dummy’s 8. This
allows him to make 4 tricks in the suit.

But declarer should beware if this is the unbid suit, since West might then have led
from Q65, in which case the deep finesse would cost a trick.
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